The gardens which were started under the supervision of Prince Albert, have been expanded and improved by successive members of the Royal Family.
Between 1923 and 1925 Queen Mary devised the charming garden, with a semi circular wall of rocks surrounding a fountain. The gates to this garden bear the monograms GR and MR.
The Duke of Edinburgh has extended the gardens to incorporate a large kitchen garden. The vegetable garden is harvested between August and October during the Royal Family's summer holiday.
The formal gardens, covering some three acres, also contain a range of Victorian glasshouses and the conservatory, which displays flowering pot plants throughout the year. A water garden has been formed to the West of the main garden in the trees between Garden Cottage and the West Drive.
Scattered around the Estate there are a wide variety of commemorative monuments and cairns, with the most recent celebrating Her Majesty The Queen's Diamond and Golden Jubilee.